Guide to the Library: Library Collections

   The Charles Haddon Spurgeon collection contains books by or about the great English Baptist known as the Prince of Preachers.  These books have SPU in the call number and may be checked out to all card holders.
 

   Through the auspices of the TexShare Database program, we are able to offer over 28,281 e-Books to assist you in your research. These books are identified with call numbers that start with EB in the card catalog.

E-books at BMATS

   Kellar Library contains a healthy collection of audio-visual materials.  They are housed in the AV room and in the main stacks.  These materials are listed in the public catalog with the following designations before the call number:

AC: audio cassette

SR: sound recording

CD: compact disk

VC: video cassette

DVD: digital video disk          

FS: film strip

SL: slide

  There are currently over 78,000 volumes of books and bound periodicals in the open stacks of Kellar Library. Materials are classified according to the Dewey Decimal Classification System. The collection contains books primarily in the fields of theological study -- Biblical Studies, Church History, Theology, Christian Ethics, Christian Education, Pastoral Theology, etc. In addition there are books in other areas of interest.

   The library has a collection of dictionaries, lexicons, encyclopedias, concordances, commentaries, biographical dictionaries, bibliographies, clerical directories and other types of reference works.  These books have an R preceding the call number in the library catalog and on the spine label.

   The library currently receives approximately 250 periodical subscriptions.  Like the book collection, the periodicals deal with the major areas of theological study as well as related subjects of interest.  

   The latest issues are available in the periodical room.  The major theological and academic periodicals are located in the periodical room.  These titles have PER at the beginning of the call number.  Periodicals with GRIM in the call number are located in the Grimsley annex building and must be retrieved with the help of a library worker.  The catalog record will indicate the available volumes, as does the record in the periodical check-in file located in the technical services room.  

   This collection is composed of books written by BMA authors or books about the BMA. It is housed in the Meadows Room which is located beside the front desk in the reading room. These books have BMA above the call number of the spine of each book, and are not to be checked-out.

Association minutes and yearbooks are located in pamphlet boxes in the Grimsley Building. Ask library staff for assistance in retrieval.

 

   Baptist Bibliography is a collection of files on liscensed and ordained BMA ministers.  Individual folders in the collection include newspaper clippings, photographs, publications, and obituaries.  These records are listed in the catalog with BB in front of the call number.